(s)Mothered

Image

 

best of

my mom

the best

of me

 

i hid

that

from 

her

 

it’s what

she

denied

i denied her

 

blazing

a trail

no one

would see

 

I

hid

my boots

at the shop

 

like she hid

all her light

under a series

of bushels

 

disjointed x3

disconnected

disarmed

disappointed

 

23 years

and i never

knew

who she was

 

only the

stories

i made up

the stories

i pieced together

 

legacy of

pain

legacy of

distortion

 

her best

was sharing

a cigarette

with me

 

her worst

too many

to count

criminal

 

bridging

the gaps

mining

the diamonds

 

another 

25 years

to clearly

see me

 

alone

alive

another

ace up my sleeve

 

mothering my mother

mothering my self

mothering my son

redefining the Mother

 

being

just being

fogging up

the mirror

 

an old

message of love

stares me down

i. am.

 

11/11/13

3 thoughts on “(s)Mothered

Leave a Reply

